Art History Department

Congratulations to our SSHRC Insight Grants Awards Winners!

Tuesday, July 3, 2018

In May 2018 the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC) announced the winners of its 2017 Insight Grants Awards Competition. Congratulations to the following faculty members on winning these prestigious grant awards. These successes speak to the  excellence and capacity of our scholars.

Applicant: Mark A. Cheetham
Collaborators: Yi Gu, Aida Y. Wong (Brandeis University)
Analogy and the structures of art history in the global era

Applicant: Joseph L. Clarke
Open office design and the acoustics of the knowledge economy, 1960-1980

Applicant: Kajri Jain
Inorganic nature and public space in post-liberalization India

A list of all SSHRC Insight Grants award winners can be found online at:

Prof. Evonne Levy a Guest Professor at Max Plank Institute in Rome

Friday, June 22, 2018

Professor Evonne Levy in the Sala del Disegno of the Palazzo Zuccari, the seat of the Bibliotheca Hertziana in Rome.
Photo by Enrico Fontolan

Professor Evonne Levy is currently holding a distinguished guest research professorship serving as the Wittkower Guest Professor at the Bibliotheca Hertziana, a Max Plank Institute located in the 16th-century palace of the painter Federico Zuccari in Rome, Italy.

One of the primary focuses of her visit is to continue work on the Wölfflin Project, a Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council-funded project begun in 2013 to study Heinrich Wölfflin and his seminal 1915 text, The Principles of Art History.

For more information on Professor Levy’s guest professorship and trip to Rome, check out this report from the University of Toronto Missisagua’s Research Office.

Prof. Christy Anderson, RSA Fellowship Winner

Wednesday, June 13, 2018

Professor Christy Anderson has been awarded The RSA-Kress Beinecke Library Fellowship from the Renaissance Society of America (RSA) for her project “Maritime Space and Expertise in Early Modern England: George Waymouth and ‘The Jewell of Artes’ (1604).”

The RSA-Kress Beinecke Library Fellowship supports a one-month residence at Yale University by a member of the RSA for the purposes of Art History research in the collections of the Beinecke Rare Book & Manuscript Library.  The Beinecke Rare Book & Manuscript Library is one of the world’s largest libraries devoted entirely to rare books and manuscripts and is Yale’s principal repository for literary archives, early manuscripts, and rare books.

More information on the research fellowships for members of the
Renaissance Society of America and a list of this year’s winners can be found online at: and

Please join us in congratulating Prof. Anderson on receiving this prestigious fellowship!

Michaela Rife receives 2018-19 Tyson Scholars at Crystal Bridges Museum

Wednesday, June 13, 2018

Crystal Bridges Museum of American Art has named Michaela Rife (BA 2010, MA 2011, 2014) as one of seven 2018-19 Tyson Scholars for her project “Public Art, Private Land: Visual Culture, Land Use, and Settler Colonialism in the American West, 1890-1940.”

The Tyson Scholars Program encourages and supports scholarship that seeks to expand boundaries or traditional categories of investigation into American art, in particular those with the potential to advance understanding of American art and to intersect meaningfully with aspects of Crystal Bridges’ collections, architecture, or landscape. Michaela’s dissertation examines how representations of natural resources in turn of the century festivals and New Deal murals worked to enshrine extractive identities in settler communities, specifically on the Great Plains.

More information on the Tyson Scholars Program and this year’s recipients can be found here:

Please join us in congratulating Michaela on receiving this prestigious award!

Congratulations to our 2017-18 Graduates!

Friday, June 8, 2018

On June 7, 2018, graduands in the Doctor of Philosophy and Master of Arts programs participated in the University’s convocation ceremonies at Convocation Hall.

The Graduate Department of Art’s faculty and staff would like to extend our sincere congratulations to all graduates and wish them all the best in their future endeavours!

MA Graduates:

Joshua Elliott, Amalya Feldman, Brooke Fernetti, Zsofia Lovei, Kyung-Seo Min, Sae Him Park, Dmitri Potemkin, Melina Rymberg, Triveni Srikaran

PhD Graduates:

Edward Bacal

Site Design & Development by Office/Bureau